Installing my Epson D78 in Ubuntu Gutsy

Download the Driver

After googling, I found a driver here that’s supposed to work. I downloaded the package but noticed that it is an RPM and not a DEB. So I’m going to have to learn how to convert it.

Converting the RPM

1.      Open a Terminal and type: sudo apt-get install alien

2.      Convert with: sudo alien –scripts gutenprint-5.0.1-1lsb3.1.i486.rpm

3.      This leaves the following file: gutenprint_5.0.1-2_i386.deb

Install the Driver

1.      dpkg -i gutenprint_5.0.1-2_i386.deb. This tells me that it installs well and has restarted cups.


Ubuntu install

1.      Go to System>Administration>printing.

2.      Click on New Printer

3.      Click on Windows Printer via Samba (my printer is connected to a Windows box).

4.      Then I click the Browse button to hunt for the printer. Once I have navigated to the printer and clicked OK, then I click on Forward.

5.      Mmm – I can’t find gutenprint, wonder where it’s gone to?

6.      OK, so I went to the normal list of printers under Select Printer from Database I choose the Epson D68 (being the model under mine, I assume) and when I go forward …  there is Gutenprint. Choose a driver and print a test page – piece of cake.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One thought on “Installing my Epson D78 in Ubuntu Gutsy

Leave a Reply

